Sudan Sudan

This country page presents information on the post-secession country of Sudan (sometimes known as North Sudan). In 2011, Sudan was formally divided when South Sudan seceded to form a new country. The portion of the country that did not secede retained the name Sudan. In the EPDC database, the country name Sudan – Post-secession is used for education indicators reported to be representative of the geographic area of post-secession Sudan (i.e. North Sudan), and includes data for years earlier than 2011. For Indicators representative of the geographic area of pre-secession Sudan (i.e. Sudan and South Sudan combined), please search under Sudan – Pre-secession.

Post-secession Sudan has a 2-8-3 formal education structure. There are two years of pre-primary school, which has an official entry age of four and is referred to as pre-school education. Primary school, which is known as basic education, has an official entry age of six and a duration of eight grades. At the end of the cycle, students receive the basic education certificate. Secondary school, which is known as academic secondary certificate, consists of grades 9-12 and culminates in the academic secondary certificate. In addition, Sudan has multiple upper secondary vocational education tracks that last two to four years (ISCED 2011 mapping for 2013 school year).

Learn More   Country Selector